PRESS RELEASE: International Union of Painters and Allied Trades District Council 36 Endorses Mayor Catherine Blakespear for State Senate

July 2, 2021

CONTACT: [email protected], (760) 814-7260

The International Union of Painters and Allied Trades (IUPAT), District Council 36, which represents more than 11,000 Painters, Drywall Finishers, Glaziers, Floorlayers, and Tradeshow & Signcraft workers in Southern California, has endorsed Mayor Catherine Blakespear for State Senate District 36.

“Encinitas Mayor Catherine Blakespear has been and will be a champion for working families in Sacramento,” said Robert Smith, Political Director of IUPAT District Council 36. “From fighting for fairer working conditions at SANDAG to creating more good-paying jobs for our trained workforce in the City of Encinitas, Catherine Blakespear has a proven record of bringing people together to achieve real results. IUPAT District Council 36 looks forward to partnering with Catherine Blakespear.”

IUPAT District Council 36 is the first labor union to endorse in the race for State Senate in District 36. 

“I’m honored to have the support of IUPAT District Council 36,” said Blakespear. “Our state desperately needs more affordable housing, and the painters and allied trades are key to achieving our goal of building homes for California families.”

Blakespear has also been endorsed by State Treasurer Fiona Ma, U.S. Congressmember Scott Peters, Chair of the San Diego County Board of Supervisors Nathan Fletcher, and multiple members of the State Legislature, Mayors, and City Councilmembers. For a complete list of endorsements, visit

Encinitas Mayor and SANDAG Chair Catherine Blakespear is the leading candidate for State Senate District 36, which is an open race in North San Diego County and South Orange County. Blakespear has been a steadfast champion for cleaner and more cost-effective transportation solutions, affordable housing, and economic security for middle class families.


Sorry, you are not in the 38th Senate District.
You are in the 38th Senate district!